Top Reads for Spring 2021

Amazon senior editor Al Woodworth picks ten books you can't miss this spring.

Books on a wooden table with flowers

Weekly Newsletter

The best of The Saturday Evening Post in your inbox!

SUPPORT THE POST

Fiction

LaterBook cover for Later

by Stephen King

Jamie Conklin can see what others cannot, and despite his mother’s best efforts to keep his talents a secret, Conlin is called on by the NYPD to track down a killer. Turns out, there’s a lot more than meets the eye.

(Hard Case Crime)

What’s Mine and YoursCover for What's Mine and Yours

by Naima Coster

For fans of Ann Patchett and Celeste Ng, a sweeping story about how parents and children engage with one another through moments of loss, and what happens when a wealthy school opens its doors to the less fortunate.

(Grand Central)

We Begin at the EndCover for the book 'We Begin at the End'

by Chris Whitaker

The 13-year-old, feisty, foul-mouthed “Outlaw Duchess Day Radley” will do anything to protect her baby brother. With her father gone, danger lurks everywhere, and so too do men from her mother’s past.

(Henry Holt)

Drown Her SorrowsCover for Drown Her Sorrows

by Melinda Leigh

When Sheriff Bree Taggart discovers the body of a young woman floating near the bank of the Scarlet River, a note in her abandoned car suggests suicide. But everything else tells a different story.

(Montlake)

The Good SisterCover for The Good Sister

by Sally Hepworth

A thrilling novel about the secrets that bind sisters that is unpredictable and addictive. Hepworth is a talented writer of domestic suspense, and if you haven’t read her work yet, this is a great place to start.

(St. Martin’s Press)

Nonfiction

Cover for Come Fly the WorldCome Fly the World

by Julia Cooke

The behind-the-scenes stories of several women who flew the skies in the late ’60s and early ’70s and the role that Pan Am stewardesses played in the Vietnam War and in Operation Babylift.

(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Cover for The Code BreakerThe Code Breaker

by Walter Isaacson

The bestselling biographer turns his meticulous eye on Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues who developed a way to edit DNA. The ramifications of their discovery are enormous and so too are the moral questions we must confront.

(Simon & Schuster)

Cover for Broken (in the Best Possible Way)Broken (in the Best Possible Way)

by Jenny Lawson

For years, Lawson has been honest about her crippling depression, yet she’s one of the funniest writers working today. Here. she’s more personal than ever, detailing her experimental treatment with magnetic stimulation.

(Henry Holt)

Cover for The Hero CodeThe Hero Code

by William H. McRaven

From battlefields to college hallways, Admiral McRaven shares the code of conduct to live a life of honor and respect through this tribute to the everyday heroes he’s met over the years.

(Grand Central)

Cover for Badass HabitsBadass Habits

by Jen Sincero

Empowering and funny, Sincero’s latest is a euphoric rallying cry around the power and importance of habits: how to understand them, how to change them, and how to live a better and more joyful life.

(Penguin Life)

This article is featured in the March/April 2021 issue of The Saturday Evening Post. Subscribe to the magazine for more art, inspiring stories, fiction, humor, and features from our archives.

Featured image: svitlini / Shutterstock

Become a Saturday Evening Post member and enjoy unlimited access. Subscribe now

Recommended

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *