Top Ten Reads for Winter 2021

Bundle up with the latest releases.

Books

Weekly Newsletter

The best of The Saturday Evening Post in your inbox!

SUPPORT THE POST

Fiction

Book coverOur Country Friends

by Gary Shteyngart

At the beginning of a pandemic, an eclectic crew convene at a country house to bide their time. This book is, strangely enough, the perfect respite from our pandemic lives.

(Random House)

Book coverAll Her Little Secrets

by Wanda M. Morris

this gripping debut thriller follows a Black lawyer who becomes embroiled in the nefarious dealings of her company, threatening not just her job, but her family.

(William Morrow)

Book coverHeard It In a Love Song

by Tracy Graves

For fans of Nick Hornby and Emily Giffin, a feel-good story about a woman getting back on her feet after divorce and returning to what she loves most: music.

(St. Martin’s Press)

Book coverThe Dark Hours

by Michael Connelly

While working one murder, LAPD Detective Renée Ballard comes across a similar, unsolved murder from years ago and teams up with Harry Bosch.

(Little Brown & Co.)

Book coverCall Us What We Carry: Poems

by Amanda Gorman

From the presidential inauguration poet comes her debut collection of poetry exploring themes of identity, grief, and memory. An incisive portrait of our country.

(Viking)

Nonfiction

Book coverThe Book of Hope

by Jane Goodall and Douglas Abrams

This insightful conversation between Abrams and the world’s foremost naturalist explores vital questions about the importance of hope and drive to build a better world.

(Celadon Books)

Book coverChurchill’s Shadow

by Geoffrey Wheatcroft

Separating myth from reality, Wheatcroft delivers a fresh reassessment of the iconic leader by looking at the most notable moments of Churchill’s career and overlaying them with their legacy that continues today.

(W.W. Norton & Co.)

Book coverEntertaining Race

by Michael Eric Dyson

From the bestselling author of Tears We Cannot Stop comes a collection of essays that celebrate and investigate the seminal role of African American culture and politics in this country.

(St. Martin’s Press)

Book coverThe Changing World Order

by Ray Dalio

The legendary investor and bestselling author of Principles uncovers the economic and political patterns of history to explain the current global power structures, in particular the strength of China.

(Simon & Shuster)

Book coverFlesh & Blood

by N. West Moss

In this beautifully written, unflinchingly honest, and poignant memoir, the author shares her struggles with miscarriage and infertility as well as her soulful journey of recovery that will resonate with millions of women.

(Algonquin Books)

This article is featured in the November/December 2021 issue of The Saturday Evening Post. Subscribe to the magazine for more art, inspiring stories, fiction, humor, and features from our archives.

Featured image: Shutterstock

Become a Saturday Evening Post member and enjoy unlimited access. Subscribe now

Recommended

Reply

Your email address will not be published.