Amazon’s Top Books for Summer 2022

Every month, Amazon staffers sift through hundreds of new books searching for gems. Here's what Amazon senior editor Al Woodworth chose especially for Post readers this summer.

Shutterstock

Weekly Newsletter

The best of The Saturday Evening Post in your inbox!

SUPPORT THE POST

Fiction

A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting by Sophie Irwin

Bridgerton fans will love this laugh-out-loud romance that follows a strong-willed, unconventional woman who is willing to flout propriety to find a wealthy husband in London. But what she doesn’t expect to find is love.

Alias Emma by Ava Glass

In this fast-paced spy thriller set on the streets of London, secret agent Emma Makepeace is on her first operation for “the Agency,” and she has until dawn to bring an informant safely into the halls of MI6, or they both will be killed.

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin

This novel about what happens when childhood friends start a business together as adults will pull at your heartstrings as friends navigate past grievances and present challenges.

Reputation by Sarah Vaughan

In this psychological thriller from the author of Anatomy of a Scandal (now an infinitely bingeable Netflix series), a politician’s past is thrust into the spotlight when a body is discovered in her home.

What Jonah Knew by Barbara Graham

This mystical thriller about mothers and sons that tells the story of seven-year-old Jonah, who claims to recall the memories of a missing musician, is both spellbinding and full of heart.

Nonfiction

An Immense World by Ed Yong

The Pulitzer Prize winner shows us the world through the eyes of a squid, the ears of songbirds, and the nose of a dog, expanding our understanding of the sensory environment and the importance of our natural world.

The Colony by Sally Denton

Ripped from the headlines, this book follows a fundamentalist Mormon community in Mexico and tells a gripping story of murder, drug cartels, and family secrets.

Rogues by Patrick Radden Keefe

From the author of the bestselling Empire of Pain comes a collection of page-turning true stories about power and deception, crime and corruption, white-collar crime and high drama.

The Crane Wife by C.J. Hauser

A funny and fiercely deadpan memoir-in-essays about love and heartbreak, robots and literature, feminism and liberty. Fans of Cheryl Strayed and Glennon Doyle will relish this book.

Koshersoul by Michael W. Twitty

The author of The Cooking Gene examines the confluence of Jewish and African diaspora food to reveal how cuisine has shaped him and so many others before and around him.

This article is featured in the July/August 2022 issue of The Saturday Evening PostSubscribe to the magazine for more art, inspiring stories, fiction, humor, and features from our archives.

Featured Image: Shutterstock

Become a Saturday Evening Post member and enjoy unlimited access. Subscribe now

Comments

  1. ‘Rogues’ looks like an interesting book. Of course with grifters, killers and crooks mentioned on the cover, my first thought was that it’s about our government that with possibly a few exceptions, is filled with nothing BUT the lowest of the low.

Reply

Your email address will not be published.